Program Sanatorium dźwięku

Sanatorium Dźwięku is a festival dedicated to contemporary experimental music and sound art. Its ambition is to present the widest possible spectrum of phenomena related to the development of musical forms of the 20th and 21st c., maintaining the balance between the traditions of experimental music of the past few decades and the new, more structureless tendencies.

The program of Sanatorium Dźwięku has been arranged in such a way that it develops in multiple layers, centering around a number of key themes  including the field of musical notation, the relationship between composition and improvisation, the use of the potential of space and the perception of sound within space.

Among the special events during the festival is a concert by the Swiss group Ensemble Phoenix, who will perform pieces by Robert Piotrowicz, Kasper T. Toeplitz, Alex Buess and Antoine Chessex. The festival itinerary also includes performances by highly regarded musicians such as Bryan Eubanks, Xavier Lopez, Anna Zaradny, Jonas Kocher, Gaudenz Badrutt, Kurt Liedwart, Johnny Chang, Mike Majkowski, Lucio Capece, Gerard Lebik and Emilio Gordoa. In addition to the concert program the festival also features installations, lectures, presentations of new publications by Paweł Szroniak and Patryk Lichota and panel discussions with Brian Olewnick, Michał Libera, Daniel Muzyczuk, Michał Mendyk and Daniel Brożek.

This year’s event takes place in co-operation with the European Capital of Culture Wroclaw 2016. As part of the Artist-in-Residence Programme A-i-R Wro, eight artist residencies were organized in Sokołowsko, during which artists produced projects to feature in the festival. The invited artists – Keith Rowe, Michael Pisaro, Valerio Tricoli, Mario de Vega, Alessandro Bosetti, Martin Howse, Olivia Block and Stephen Cornford – are among the world’s most prominent creators of music and sound art.

A-i-R Wro Programme is subsidized by the Ministry of Culture and National Heritage of Poland.

Zuzanna Fogtt, Gerard Lebik